Mini Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Protein Cheesecakes

I have a major sweet tooth.

I think I get this from my father, who keeps Little Debbies under his bed and generously supports the Girl Scouts of America each year with an ungodly order of cookies.

One of my strange, neurotic eating habits is controlled by my confection obsession. I like to hoard my carbs and fats for a binge-like dessert bowl. Here are some of my concoctions:

Still carb/fat hoarding even in prep. 😜

A post shared by Cassidy Hoffman (@cassidyh626) on

It sort of serves as a stress relief for me, but it’s kind of stupid. The great thing about flexible dieting is that these foods are not off-limits to me, as long as they fit within my macronutrient goals for the day. BUT, I don’t need to have this kind of thing every day. I don’t need to avoid a meal with friends or family just because I’d rather hoard my macros for this binge bowl. That’s disordered.

Anyway, when I went out on Saturday to Augustine’s, I used up a good bit of carbs and fat from the salad and beer. I needed something higher in protein at the end of the day to hit my numbers, but I still wanted something sweet!

I’ve seen protein cheesecake recipes in forums and on Instagram, but I am pretty clumsy in the kitchen; I prefer to just throw things in a bowl.

But I decided to try! I modified this recipe a little bit: Protein Pow – Protein Cheesecake

Cheesecake Ingredients

Cheesecake Ingredients

Quantities

Quantities

I didn’t have vanilla extract so I left that out. No biggie. t.

About to go in the oven!

About to go in the oven!

I also don’t have a cake pan, but I have this silicone muffin pan so I just made mini cheesecakes!

Finished!

Finished!

78p/52c/19f for the ENTIRE recipe!

78p/52c/19f for the ENTIRE recipe!

I followed Protein Pow’s directions for the most part, but here’s my step-by-step method:

Ingredients:

  • 1 8oz package fat free cream cheese (233g)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cashew milk (40mL)
  • 5 oz nonfat plain greek yogurt (140g)
  • 1/2 scoop Quest Chocolate Shake protein powder (15g)
  • 1/2 scoop Quest Peanut Butter protein powder (15g)
  • 1 large egg (50g)
  • 1 packet of stevia (1g)
  • 2 Unreal dark chocolate peanut butter cups (37g)
  • Just a lil dash of salt

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325º F
  • Soften cream cheese by putting it in the microwave for like 45 seconds on 70% power
  • Add egg, stevia and salt and mix (I used an electric hand mixer)
  • Add everything else except the peanut butter cups and mix
  • Divide mixture into muffin pan (Confession: I put the bowl on my food scale and made sure that each mold had the same number of grams, but that’s really not necessary and it’s really kind of obsessive)
  • Break up peanut butter cups and stick them in the mold
  • Bake for 25 min
  • Lower temperature to 200º F and bake for 30 min (doesn’t need to be as long since the molds are smaller. If you’re using a larger cake pan, you should bake it for like an hour)
  • Remove from oven and let cool (I literally just put the muffin tray in the fridge because I wanted to eat some of these immediately)

The great thing about the silicone mold is that I could just pop the cheesecakes out by pressing up from the bottom!

I had three mini cheesecakes that night, and put the rest in a plastic container in the fridge.

THEN I ate them! I still had a little bit of carbs and fats, so I topped the mini cheesecakes with a little scoop of Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Smash Blizzard from Dairy Queen!!

So there you have it. A thing that I made 🙂

Leave a Reply

