Music + Beer + Doughnuts

I almost felt like a normal young adult this weekend!

While 99% of Atlanta was packed in Piedmont Park for Music Midtown, my friend Catie and I attended an awkwardly intimate concert at Georgia Tech’s Under the Couch. We went to see Damned Rivers, a Southern folky band from Nashville. Catie knows the lead guitarist/vocalist, and he offered to play at her wedding next year. So, we went to their show to get a feel for their sound (note: it’s good).

Damned Rivers

Damned Rivers

I’m not much of a music person, but I was thoroughly impressed with this artist that played before Damned Rivers. Her name is Trishes; she records herself and creates mixes on the spot while she sings and plays the keyboard.

IMG_7416

Being out on a Friday night typically involves drinking, so I wanted to go with a high-protein/low-carb/low-fat option for dinner. I went with a buffalo chicken salad from Subway; I calculated the macros based on the estimated portions of the ingredients and left it at that:

I also saved 15g of carbs and 5g of fat Tuesday-Thursday so that I could imbibe without fear of going over my allotment. Turns out I didn’t really need to save that much because the venue was dry! But Catie and I did meet her fiancé and some other friends at The Local No. 7, and I had a PUMPKIN BEEEER.

Harpoon UFO Pumpkin Ale

Harpoon UFO Pumpkin Ale

According to RateBeer.com, this beer weighs in at 177cals for 12 fl oz. I had a 16 fl oz pour, which I logged like this:

Yes, I logged to the hundredth decimal so that my daily total was perfectly zero-ed out...I realize this is neurotic haha.

Yes, I logged to the hundredth decimal so that my daily total was perfectly zero-ed out…I realize this is neurotic haha.

Saturday was Talk Like a Pirate Day, and Krispy Kreme was giving away FREE dozens if you dressed up like a pirate. My mom and I are kind of into pirates, so we totally did it:

I saved three from the dozen and fit them into my days over the weekend 🙂

Overall a pretty low-key weekend. I’m lucky that I am moving into a bulk so that I can incorporate more fun things (read: alcohol) while dining out.

2 thoughts on “Music + Beer + Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

