“Come on down and dine on this tasty swine…” – Food and Food and Food & Wine

Heh

Ok so I realize the title is a little weird and it’s creepy to think about eating Pumbaa but I had so much pig on this day so it seemed appropriate.

I was surprised to wake up on Day 2 of this vacation looking pretty lean. My irrational self expected to blow up after the excess calories from the night before. This was a little wake-up call for me. One day is not going to completely derail my progress.

Not Bad

I was also pretty energized to get a workout in. I put those excess cals to work by doing a quick leg circuit outside on this Mickey football field!

Yes, I use BodySpace… I used bands for the standing leg curls.

After my workout, I woke up all my friends so we could get started on the day ahead of us. We planned on hitting all four parks this day and we needed to get going!

The first park we visited was Disney’s Hollywood Studios. Did a couple attractions there and stopped at Starbucks for a coffee. I ordered a grande blonde roast with 2 pumps of sugar-free cinnamon dolce and 2 pumps of sugar-free caramel. I threw in some Splenda and nonfat milk, too. I don’t really like to drink my calories (unless it’s alcohol), and I don’t mind the taste of artificial sweeteners at all, so this works out perfectly for me.

After DHS, we went to Disney’s Animal Kingdom. My friend Meredith and I are creatures of habit. We always eat at the SAME restaurant at DAK and order the SAME entrée, and this trip was no exception.

Pulled Pork Sandwich topped with Pickled Slaw and served with Baked Beans…aaand a couple different kinds of BBQ sauce 🙂

Another BBQ sandwich! I am a Cuban girl living in the deep South which explains my fondness for pig meat.

After DAK, we headed over to Epcot! During our visit, Epcot was hosting its annual International Food & Wine Festival. There were over 25 booths with food/alcohol from different countries and cuisines.

I’ve experienced the festival for the past four years. My game plan was to eat whatever I felt until I was full (or until I ran out of my food & wine budget money..whichever came first), but to not repeat anything I’ve tried in the past.

Here’s what I ended up eating:

From left-to-right, top-to-bottom:

  • Dominican Republic – Lechón asado: Roasted pork with mangú, pickled red onion and avocado
  • Farm Fresh (Farm-to-Table Cuisine) – Loaded mac n’ cheese with Nueske’s® pepper bacon, cheddar cheese, peppers and green onions
  • Mexico – Pastel de elote con queso: sweet corn cheesecake
  • Poland – Frozen Szarlotka Apple Pie featuring Zubrowka Bison Grass Vodka

So yes. TWO MORE pig dishes! Pork and bacon!

Very happy about this Frozen Apple Pie…

The drink had little bits of apple in the bottom. The frozen part was kind of like the apple juice concentrate you get in the freezer aisle of the grocery store with vodka mixed in. Topped with pie crumbles 🙂 🙂 🙂 YUM.

Oh — I also had a caramel Ghirardelli square because they had free samples 🙂

BUT IT DOESN’T STOP THERE.

We went BACK to Magic Kingdom after Epcot because it was open until 11pm. Which means I had time for another caramel apple.

The mini M&M apple is my go-to usually.

And with that treat to finish off the night, I was ready to SLEEP.

FOUR PARKS ONE DAY

We did tons of walking this day and I feel like most of my meals were pretty “normal” especially for vacation. Plus the portions from the Food & Wine festival were prettyyyyy small.

My self-evaluation is pretty much the same as last week. I ordered exactly what I wanted without guilt.

But it crept up on me the next day as we prepared for our return to reality…

3 thoughts on ““Come on down and dine on this tasty swine…” – Food and Food and Food & Wine

  1. Pingback: “Forget About Your Worries and Your Strife” – Disney Vacation Untracked – Day 1 | Quarter-Life Cassidy

  2. Pingback: Bye-Bye Disney, Hello Binge Guilt | Quarter-Life Cassidy

  3. Pingback: DIY Caramel Apple | Quarter-Life Cassidy

Leave a Reply

