The Menu for a Celebration of Love – Wedding Weekend!

After what seemed like an eternity of an engagement period, my friends Anna and Jonathan finally tied the knot yesterday! (You might remember her lingerie party from a few posts back)

I had been mentally preparing for this event for a while; social eating is inevitably tied to weddings, but I managed to keep most of my food anxiety to a minimum.

The weekend started with a rehearsal dinner at Einstein’s, a cute lil restaurant in the heart of Atlanta. Typically when I dine out, I  like to at least take a look at the menu to get an idea of what I’d order. However, since this was a large gathering, we had a pre-selected menu and I had no clue what would be on it.

Not knowing what to expect did worry me a bit. A couple of my friends lovingly teased me about what I was going to order. I have to admit I was a little edgy about it, and told them I’d rather not discuss it because it just made me more anxious.

When we got to the restaurant, I got to take a look at the menu for our group:

IMG_9379

I decided to go with the Heirloom Mixed Green salad with no dressing to start with, and then the Grilled Coulotte Steak (hold the au poivre) for dinner. I rarely eat steak because I’m not comfortable cooking it myself, so I thought it’d be nice deviation from my normal protein sources 🙂

Look at this ridiculousness the server brought me though for my salad:

IMG_9383

Literally just greens and craisins

Idk why they neglected to top my salad with the blue cheese and almonds, but whatever. I had a few bites but didn’t bother finishing even half of it…wtf.

Then they brought out the entrées:

IMG_9385

Steak (medium rare), Mashed Potatoes and Broccoli

I didn’t want to go too over on my protein, so I gave a couple ounces of this steak to a friend. It was pretty good but not very filling.

This is how I tracked in MyMacros+: IMG_9497

I figured the amount of steak I ate was about 6oz. I added the oil to account for whatever the steak and broccoli were cooked in. I also made sure to pick a mashed potatoes entry that had fat in it since these likely had milk and butter mixed in there.

I still had a ton of carbs left for the evening, so I made a pretty hefty pumpkin pancake stack when I got home. But they came out super mushy and gross because I didn’t have enough dry ingredients in the batter. Not picture-worthy, but I went to bed FULL.

We had an early start the next day. Needed to be at the wedding venue by 8AM for hair and makeup. I started my day with a coffee from Dunkin Donuts. I probably could’ve used another cup or two to get me through the long day ahead!

My coach and I decided to go untracked this day since it would be very busy, and I wanted to focus more on the bride and enjoying the wedding than my macros.

The mother of the bride and maid of honor brought breakfast for all of us! Mimosas and breakfast pastries. Not particularly substantial, but tasty 🙂

IMG_9406

My first mimosa…but not my last! I helped myself to two hehe

Make-up and hair took quite a while. I loved my fishtail braid updo and smokey eye look:

 

Lunch was a half Publix sub (ham/cheddar) and some chips! I probably could’ve had another half, but I was kind of restricting so that I could eat more at the reception.

IMG_9414

The ceremony was absolutely beautiful. I wish I had pictures from it! I can’t wait for the photographer to send the bride her photos.

By the time the ceremony was over, everyone was starving! Most of us hadn’t eaten since around 11 for lunch, and the cocktail hour didn’t start until 5:30.

I LOVED the food from the cocktail hour. They had passed hors d’oeuvres:

IMG_9415

Beef Empanada and Mac & Cheese Bite

Both of these were like the size of my thumb. I had another mac & cheese bite 😛

IMG_9416

Mini Pulled Pork Slider

I also sipped on a glass of Chardonnay during the cocktail hour. What I REALLY wanted was an Irish coffee because it was so freezing cold.

FINALLY at 6:30 it was dinner time! We had a seated dinner, and picked our entrées when we sent our RSVPs. I chose chicken because I figured I’d get the most protein from that over the other options (salmon, beef, and vegetarian something).

There were salads at our seats when we entered the banquet hall:

IMG_9426

Mixed Greens, mandarin oranges, almonds, and some sort of vinaigrette

They brought our entrées out shortly after everyone finished their salads.

IMG_9428

Chicken, mashed potatoes, veggies, and a roll

It was pretty good for catered food! I think the chicken had some sort of barbecue sauce or something on it. I cleaned my plate!

Then it was time for cake! There were four flavors to choose from: chocolate, vanilla, strawberry and carrot.

I went with carrot because that’s not something I usually eat. It was DELICIOUS. I forgot how good carrot cake is.

IMG_9434

HNNNGNGGG

I also had a couple other drinks…a tequila shot and a rum/orange juice concoction.

It was nice to not worry about my intake and just enjoy the reception. I danced a TON. The bride and groom hired a band to play at the reception and they played all sorts of songs. I tried to get them to play Hotline Bling but unfortunately it was not on their set list… booo.

Here’s a fun collage of me and the BEAUTIFUL bride. We have been friends for over a decade. I love these pictures because they perfectly capture our friendship. Two silly, mischievous girls with so much love for each other:

The party favors were these little Colombian coffee candies! I tried one of the wrapped ones and one of the little egg-shaped ones on my way home:

IMG_9467

I PASSED out when I got to bed. I figured the scale would be up a little bit, but it was actually the same as yesterday. Go figure, right?

I’m pretty proud of myself for this weekend. Here’s my evaluations:

Win: Being flexible at the rehearsal dinner and choosing reasonable estimates

Win: Not going crazy just because I was untracked on Saturday. I could’ve easily binged on the breakfast, lunch, passed hors d’oeuvres, and cake but I chose to listen to my body and eat until I was satisfied.

Opportunity: I probably could’ve eaten more carbs on Friday before the rehearsal dinner, but I have a habit of saving macros for the evening which is hard for me to break.

Win: Having a fabulous time as a bridesmaid for one of my best friends.

So many of life’s most precious moments involve food. I’m proud of myself for not letting my food anxiety get in the way of this one.

I can say this, though. I know when I get married, it’s definitely going to be a pizza party 😛

Leave a Reply

