Southwest Adventures – Part 2

Can you believe that this is only part 2 of 3, and we already had done so much during part 1?!?!

It only gets better from here.

Day 4: Grand Canyon, Antelope Canyon, Horseshoe Bend

We woke up on Day 4 not sure if we would be able to hike the South Kaibab Trail. We were only going to do about 1.5 miles, but the snow on the ground made us uncertain. We talked to some park rangers the night before, and they actually advised against hiking the trail at all without snow gear.

We decided we’d at least go back out to the park and take a look at some of the vantage points. But first, breakfast!

img_0420-1

Good Ol’ Mack-Donald’s — Egg White Delight!

The Grand Canyon has a shuttle service which transports guests around the rim. We hopped on one that serviced the South Rim just so we could see what the trail looked like.

Lo and behold — it was clear enough to hike!! There was some snow on the ground, but no ice! I felt really fortunate that we took the time to check. That’s not to say that you should ever disregard the park rangers, but I’m willing to bet they err on the side of caution when it comes to winter weather hiking!

We trekked all the way down to “Ooh-Aah” point, so named for its beautiful vista of the Grand Canyon. This landmark was only about half a mile less than our intended turnaround point, and I still felt pretty accomplished.

img_0483

LOOK HOW GRAND

Going down to “Ooh-Aah” was a breeze. Getting back up, on the other hand…

img_0424

Endless switchbacks

Which brings me to the lesson for the day:

“I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life – and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.” – Georgia O’Keefe

In all honesty, I was a little hesitant about our South Kaibab trek after hearing the park rangers advise us against it. But I don’t think I could have dealt with the regret we would’ve felt after traveling all the way out to Arizona and not even attempting the hike. I’m forever changed by experiencing its beauty first-hand, and I think that the perceived risk involved actually made the experience more awe-inspiring.

I often find myself fretting over “perceived risks” related to different aspects of my life: careers, relationships, finances, fitness, whatever. I’ve dismissed goals and desires for fear of failing or screwing up some other aspect of my life. I hope that the next time I’m faced with a challenge, I remember this time when we kind of ignored the overly-cautious angel on our shoulders to do what we came to do!

Sentiment over. Here’s some food.

img_0485

I never chew gum but I felt the urge to buy this.

After our Grand Canyon hike, we drove on through to Page, AZ. We stopped at a little gift shop along the way for a quick snack.

img_0487

Please do not judge me. Lunchables are great.

 

Our next stop was the Navajo Bridge. It is known that the endangered California Condor hang out here, but they’re still kind of elusive. We were lucky enough to spot THREE just chillin under the bridge!

img_0509

Two of the three Condor

Another must-do before arriving in Page…the dinosaur tracks of Tuba City!

img_0503-1

Literally off the side of the road

There were a couple of guides hanging out under some shelters when we pulled up. A woman greeted us and took us around the grounds, pointing out the different tracks. Some of the information seemed a little outlandish, but there are actual verified tracks out there.

 

img_0490

Verified dinosaur track.

Sometimes the thought occurs to me that every place we’ve ever stepped, a dinosaur has probably stepped there, too. WTF.

Our final attraction before making it to Page was Horseshoe Bend. We got there right before sunset. This is kind of a landmark where the Colorado River makes a 270-degree turn through the canyon. It’s incredibly beautiful and my photograph doesn’t do it justice.

img_0524

Do you think there are mermaids in there?

 

Page was a pretty quiet town. There weren’t a lot of restaurant options. We went to an Italian place called Strombolli’s. All I had eaten that day was the McDonald’s breakfast and that tiny Lunchable, so I was pretty ravenous.

img_0529

Salad for dem micros

img_0530

MY OWN PERSONAL HAWAIIAN CALZONE OMG I WANT IT AGAIN

I was so hungry. I ate the entire calzone.

Then I figured I might as well put that surplus to use, so I went to the fitness center in our hotel that night.

img_0548

Despite all the food I’d eaten, I looked pretty lean and I was happy about that.

 

Went to bed…

Day 5: Antelope Canyon, off to Moab!

…And woke up HUNGRY! Post workout continental breakfast:

img_0592

Potatoes, eggs with salsa, sausage links, pancake with cinnamon apples…COFFEE.

img_0593

I had to have one of these chocolate muffins because it looked so cute

Antelope Canyon was probably one of the most fascinating hikes of our trip. Formed by a magical combination of erosion and flooding, this descent 120 feet into the ground is a favorite among photographers. The light pours into the canyon and bounces off the bits of sandstone. Professionals are able to capture some stunning images, but the canyon is so photogenic that even amateurs like me could get some impressive shots.

img_0638

Confession: our guide helped me with this one

img_0648

It looks like a lady with longAF hair

We booked a guide through Ken’s Tours. Guests are required to have a guide for the lower canyon, and after our experience, there’s no way I would’ve attempted to go without one! He helped us set up our cameras and phones to get amazing pictures.

I think this is a good spot for the lesson of the day:

“I’m not afraid to go up to people and pick their brains and ask for advice. To me, that’s how you get better. That’s how I’ve gotten better at everything I’ve ever done. Don’t be too proud to ask for help.” – Dave Bautista

**Confesssion: I didn’t really know who Dave Bautista was before finding this quote. I literally Googled “quotes about asking for help” and I liked this one. Does that make me basic?

Anyway — I like this for the lesson of the day because we really took full advantage of our guide. Had we not asked him for help with our pictures, I know that like 90% of mine would have turned out blurry or dully or whatever. This guy knows what he’s doing. Why not let him teach us?

I’ve found that people generally LIKE being asked for help. It’s the ultimate confidence boost when someone trusts you enough to come to you for advice or assistance. It’s a win-win. The helpee gets what he needs, and the helper gets the affirmation that he knows wtf he’s doing. And let’s not forget the feel-good vibes that come from doing a nice thing for another person.

Also, as the helpee, why waste your time fumbling through some task (or worse — avoiding it altogether) just because you were too shy to ask for help? Never let your aptitude for learning dwindle away. Seek guidance from experts and better yourself.

img_0644

Jay is the best! Here he is showing us how to position our cameras to get a cool shot.

 

Spent about two hours at Antelope Canyon, and we were hungry, but we had to make our way to Moab before dark.

No time to sit down for lunch:

img_0667

This one didn’t come with Oreos… 😦

 

Another quick stop: Newspaper Rock

img_0673

Like, WTF WERE THEY TALKING ABOUT

It was cold and dark when we got to Moab. Thankfully, the hotel had the perfect treat to warm us up:

img_0678

Pro tip: Mix hot chocolate packet with coffee and throw a hard candy peppermint in there. Boom: Peppermint Mocha!

We were starving, so we asked the front desk attendant where we should eat. She recommended Moab Brewery.

EVERYTHING looked appetizing, but there was a tilapia salad on the menu that came with jalapeno cornbread and like, I had to have it.

img_0679-1

AND DAT BUTTER.

My sweet tooth was raging at the sight of the brewery’s gelato display at the front of the restaurant. It was too cold for gelato, though. Fortunately, while a few members of our group went to the movies to see In the Heart of the Sea, Meredith and I took a short walk to a restaurant called Zax for dessert. We split this monster:

img_0681

“The Bigger Cookie”

I did another band workout after dessert. I really wanted to be sure that my surplus was being used for muscle gainnnnz.

Day 6: Dead Horse Point, Arches National Park, and so much food. 

Started my day with my workout, and then devoured this breakfast:

img_0690

Make-your-own waffles!!! One topped with strawberries, one with blueberries, and TWO with chocolate chip/peanut butter. Also eggs with salsa and some HAM.

Our first stop was Dead Horse Point. Not really a hike, just a great vantage point of the Canyonlands. The park rangers here were really nice, and gossiped with us about the guy who got trapped there and had to cut his arm off.

img_0696

I had to.

We went back into Moab during the middle of the day to eat lunch. After hearing about the dessert Meredith and I shared at Zax, the rest of the group wanted to try it out!

They had a pizza/soup/salad buffet option which sounded perfect to me. The pizza is baked fresh RIGHT there. Not like Cici’s.

img_0701

Some concoction including peas, black olives, beets, onions and a tomato vinaigrette. Also beer cheese soup. Wasn’t that good.

img_0702

Hawaiian, of course! And a slice of BBQ chicken.

Our first hike in Arches  was an easy 1 mi stroll down “Park Avenue,” so named for its slight resemblance to the skyscraper-lined street in NYC. The sandstone formations here are REALLY tall. Some of them are old arches that have broken off.

img_0703-2

“The Three Gossips”

Then we hiked up the Windows trail.

img_0706

Chillin in the arch.

And finally, just before sunset, the flagship of Arches National Park: Delicate Arch.

img_0724

The Delicate Arch hike was pretty tough. There were some icy patches, but it was so worth it once we got there.

Lesson for Day 6 (thanks again, Google):

“We must all obey the great law of change. It is the most powerful law of nature.” – Edmund Burke 

The crazy thing about the arches is that they started out as sandstone “fins” that were pushed up by salt deposits under the earth. Over time, the arches were formed by weather erosion. Eventually, they will be eroded away forever.

There is nothing we can do to stop this, really. They took MILLIONS of years to form, but they are constantly facing the reality of their inexorable transformations. We can just accept the beauty of the formations for what they are today and what they may become in the future.

It’s easy to apply this to our own, short human lives. I think it’s important to kind of take a step back and appreciate the person you are and the things you have at the moment because none of us are immune to the laws of nature. Things are going to change eventually :/

Meh.

We had accomplished quite a bit this day. Needless to say, we were hungry after all of those arches. There was an Italian place right outside of our hotel called Pasta Jay’s, so we decided to go there.

I was craving a salad again, so I ordered their veggie salad with chicken. It came with garlic bread, but I asked for cheese bread because cheese.

img_0746

I wish I could’ve finished it.

img_0745

As if I didn’t have enough cheese on the bread

Obviously, I needed more cheese for dessert…CHEESECAAAAKE

img_0748-1

I love you.

Another epic meal meant another workout before bed. My pump was pretty ridiculous from all of that food.

img_0831img_0768

One installment left. Definitely will get it out before 2016!

One thought on “Southwest Adventures – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Southwest Adventures – Part 3 | Quarter-Life Cassidy

Leave a Reply

